The EarthBox Forum
November 27, 2014, 02:14:33 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the EarthBox Forum!

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Growing Dandelions - INTENTIONALLY!  (Read 4349 times)
GoldenGirl

Plant City, FL Zone 9 Luv My Goldens!!

« on: July 06, 2012, 08:28:53 PM »

I have been drinking green smoothies for a couple of years now, and I keep hearing about the healthful benefits of incorporating dandelion greens into my recipes.  So....I purchased some seeds last week from Cooks' Garden for "Dandelion Ameliore" - a french dandelion.  I know many of you will think this is the craziest thing  you've ever heard - to pay for and grow weeds intentionally!  For those who don't think I'm crazy - have any of you ever tried growing them in an earthbox?  We don't have dandelions in Florida, so I hope that I can pull this off.  Any suggestions on being successful with my new crop are most appreciated!!   Grin Grin
PaulB

Southeast New Mexico, zone 7

« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2012, 12:51:20 AM »

Culinary dandelions are different from our common dandelions.

Southeast New Mexico, zone 7
GoldenGirl

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2012, 09:47:44 AM »

Hi Paul!  Thanks for your reply.  Have you grown culinary dandelions before? 
potatohead

9A Desert Southwest

« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2012, 11:57:19 AM »

I have grown some dandelion like greens and they seemed to do better in the cooler months. They may not grow in Florida in July, but perhaps with some shade you could pull it off, or wait until it cools down some.
mjb8743

Zone 7, South NJ, Garden State

« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2012, 12:17:30 PM »

We don't have dandelions in Florida, so I hope that I can pull this off.