The EarthBox Forum
April 17, 2014, 10:57:26 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the EarthBox Forum!

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Use of time release fertilizer for tomatoes?  (Read 1671 times)
floridabrits

« on: January 10, 2012, 09:29:09 AM »

Hello Earth Box fans...   I am brand new to Earth Box and just purchased my first one to plant organic heirloom tomatoes.

I consulted with the store that I purchased it from and they steered me away from the lime/fertilizer that came with the EB and sold me organic ones instead...   I have planted everything up and it all looks good to go, except I noticed afterward that the organic fertilizer I have been sold/put in the EB is time release and when I re-read the instructions for the EB it says not to use time release fertilizer.

Does anyone understand the reason for this?  Am I going to have issues with my tomatoes?  I don't really want to dig everything up and start again with new soil unless there's a showstopper here that means I have to!

Many thanks in advance for your experienced views and suggestions...

gardendoc

Ocean Springs, MS Zone 9a

« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2012, 09:59:52 AM »

Most organic fertilizers will be considered "time released" when compared to the synthetic ag fertilizers. It's the controlled released coated fertilizers like Osmocote that should be avoided (though I don't know why, buts that's for another discussion). I would not worry

A government big enough to give you everything you want is a government big enough to take from you everything you have. Gerald Ford
floridabrits

« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2012, 10:30:48 AM »

Thank you for the quick response... much appreciated!
movrshakr

Zone 10a- near Cape Canaveral

« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2012, 10:33:21 AM »