The EarthBox Forum
August 28, 2014, 09:11:37 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the EarthBox Forum!

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Getting spinach to germinate - any tips?  (Read 2192 times)
seansmum

Queensbury, NY. Zone 4-5

« on: August 06, 2011, 12:27:01 PM »

I have been trying to get spinach started for my fall planting with absolutely no luck. Do any of you have any tips or ideas what I'm doing wrong? I've been trying in an air conditioned room under T5 grow lights. Thanks.
Sue
jimmyjohnnyjoe

Zone 6B

« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2011, 02:43:04 PM »

Hi, I have no experience trying to start spinach seedlings but I plan to start trying soon. I heard spinach can be hard so I have been researching it and have found a few things.  Some things I found out:

Use fresh seed. Seed over a year old has only an 80 per cent germination rate and older seeds are even less likely to grow. Fresh seed germinates quickly at around 50 degrees and adequately at around 60 degrees.

Chill seeds for summer or fall plantings in the refrigerator for 1 or 2 weeks before planting (I guess this simulates winter conditions).

I also have heard some people soak their seeds for some time period (overnight I think) before putting them into the sprouting medium.

I wish I knew more. I hope some of that helps.
gardendoc

Ocean Springs, MS Zone 9a

« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2011, 03:00:12 PM »

I have a green thumb with most, but spinach gives me fits. There's no need to chill if you are using some of those store bought seeds.  I take the seeds and put in a ziplock with a moist paper towel.  When the radicle starts to emerge I transfer to a 72-cell plug tray to grow out. 

A government big enough to give you everything you want is a government big enough to take from you everything you have. Gerald Ford

Be the fountain, not the drain
CathyRose