The EarthBox Forum
October 23, 2014, 03:52:37 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the EarthBox Forum!

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: White bug on Tomato Leaf  (Read 7878 times)
mamabear

« on: July 10, 2006, 03:34:04 PM »

Hi everyone...I am a newbie gardener and know nothing about gardening....but after reading all this exciting stuff on this forum I finally bought my earthbox.  3 weeks ago I planted two tomato plants...1 celebrity and 1 heirloom.  They were about 12 inches tall, and below the extension rod.  The second day after I planted the celebrity I had a tomato!!  Cheesy  After 3 weeks I have 4 celebrity tomatos and 1 heirloom, and lots of blossoms and they are taller than the extension rod now.  I live in Orange County california. 

My problem is I noticed tiny transclucent white specks, they look like grains of salt on the black cover under the heirloom.  They look like they are coming off the leaf of the heirloom.  I sprayed it with water hoping to dislodge the bug or whatever it is...but the next day it is back in the same spot.  I think there may be some little brown bugs with wings...The most noticeable thing is the white grains of salt thing though...Is this an aphid? How do I get rid of it? Should I buy pesticide at the garden store? If so, what type? Or should I spray with dishwashing soap? If so, at what concentration?

I am clueless and appreciate all your help...thank you. 
Steve
The EarthBox

Northeast PA, zone 5

« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2006, 04:07:53 PM »